A Learning Skills Foundation Sister Organisation


The Maths Anxiety Trust works to eliminate anxiety about Maths

About the Trust

The Maths Anxiety Trust is a sister organization to the Learning Skills Foundation. It is an independent, not for profit, organisation with no political affiliations whose target is to eliminate Maths Anxiety in Britain. We are working with academics and psychologists to evaluate and identify practical techniques to reduce anxiety and increase competence in maths.


The Trust has 4 aims:

  • To define and explain Maths Anxiety and alert people to its existence.

  • To enable people with Maths Anxiety to achieve their potential in education, working with parents and teachers.

  • To enable people with Maths Anxiety to achieve their potential in the workplace.

  • To help prevent poverty and increase social mobility with the confidence that comes from knowledge of and ease with everyday maths


Maths Anxiety Trust is privately funded.  The Committee is made up of volunteers.



Shirley Conran OBE,  Hon Fellow UCL, formed The Maths Anxiety Trust in 2018 to ask questions, get answers and press for action.  Shirley is the best-selling author of many books including Superwomanand Lace.  She is the former womans editor on The Observer and the Daily Mail;   Founder of The Life Work Balance Trust.  She has been a  maths researcher and writer since 2004; Founder of Maths Action 2009.


Shirley Conran

Professor Margaret Brown OBE
President and Mathematics Advisor
Former Chair of the Joint Mathematical Council of the UK; former adviser to The Department of Education on the maths curriculum; Emeritus Professor of Mathematics Education at King’s College London; Co-Chair Mathsworld uk

Keith Pledger
Mathematics Advisor
Former Chair of Examiners at Edexcel, best-selling author of maths textbooks.

Jerry Jarvis
Former MD Edexcel and BTEC

Caroline Shott
Founder & CEO of Learning Skills Foundation, Learning Skills Research and the educational thinktank, Learnus.

Joel Cadbury
CE Longshot

Jeremy Dudman-Jones
Assistant Headmaster, Greenford High School.  Founder member of Learnus

Janet Fitch
Design writer, Director of the Association for Contemporary Jewellery

Jacqui Graham
Publishing professional, publicist - independent.  Former Group Publicity Director for publisher Pan Macmillan

Dr Anne Murray-Hudson
Former Head teacher of Langley Park School for Girls from 2011-2018, Founder of Langley Park Academies Trust. Anne holds the National Professional Qualification in Headship as well as a PhD in Education. Her expertise includes teacher training and school inspection.

Lindsay Nicholson MBE
Astrophysicist, former Editor-in-Chief Good Housekeeping magazine

Helen Whitten
Accredited coach, mediator, facilitator, writer and poet, Founder and MD of Positiveworks, 1992-2016, a company providing personal development programmes, and facilitation services

Alastair Whitehouse
Founder of Citizenarc, Tech Support and Computer Training

Peter York
CE of Social Research Unit (SRU Marketing) author, broadcaster, journalist, Visiting Professor at the University of the Arts, London
We would like to thank our supporters; we very much appreciate their input and encouragement

House of Commons
The Rt Hon. Justine Greening
Former Secretary of State for Education from 2016-2018.  Co-Founder of The Social Mobility Pledge Campaign

The Rt Hon. Liz Truss MP
President of the Board of Trade, Secretary of State for International Trade

House of Lords
Baroness (Elizabeth) Berridge
A founding member of the International Panel of Parliamentarians for Freedom of Religion or Belief

Dame Nicky Morgan
Former Chair of the Treasury Select Committee; Former Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Lord (David) Willetts FRS
Politician and academic;  Former Minister of State for Universities and Science 2010 – July 2014; President of the Resolution Foundation.

Michelle Wildman
CEO PARENTKIND with 35,000 membership (formerly Parent Teachers Association)

social media publicity, brand advisors, research and data analysis

Distinguished Supporters
Professor Sir Cary Cooper CBE
Professor of Organisational Psychology & Health, University of Manchester, President of the CIPD, The Professional Body for Human Resources and President of the British Academy of Management

Professor Dame Celia Hoyles OBE
Chair of Mathematics Education, UCL IOE, Maths Anxiety pioneer, ex-government Maths Czar

Professor Dame Alison Peacock
Former Head Teacher, CEO Chartered College of Teaching.

Professor Derek Bell
Director of educational think tank, Learnus and Adviser to The Learning Skills Foundation

Professor Mike Askew
Writer of maths textbooks, former Professor of Mathematics Education at Kings College, London; Former President of the Mathematical Association; Adjunct Professor of Education at Monash University, Melbourne

Associate Professor Sue Johnston-Wilder
Centre for Education Studies, University of Warwick; UK authority on Maths Anxiety

Dr Samantha Callan
Anthropologist, Political Adviser

Dr Liz Miles, B.Eng, MBA, FIMMM, FHEA
Network Coordinator of the UNESCO UNITWIN in Humanitarian Engineering, Principal Lecturer in Humanitarian Engineering, Policy Fellow at the Department for Education

Professor Alice Onion
Former adviser to the Dept of Education on the maths curriculum

Steve Parsons
Head teacher of Langley Park Boys’ School

The Maths Anxiety Trust © 2020